Encouragement

The Lord is so cool in how sends us encouragement… I just wanted to share this with you!

I have been having a bit of a rough few weeks; experiencing throbbing pain in my mouth (like I have been hit in the face with a baseball bat is a good analogy) and pain meds that don’t work.  Today has been the worst so far…I have been up since 6am with a bag of frozen vegetables on my jaw (I have already sacrificed a good bag of corn, now I am working on some cut green beans) feeling lots of pain that isn’t going away and being pretty unproductive around the house.

I have been on the phone with 3 different offices trying to find out when exactly I can get in to the dentist for my root canal an was told that the earliest they could get me in would be the WEEK of May 7.  I started to cry uncontrollably to the poor girl on the other end of the line.

Anyway…as I am crying because my face hurts, holding the phone on one side, the bag of corn on the other side, I saw an email pop up on my screen: “Young believer looking for a church in Austria” from an email address that I don’t know.  This is what it said:

Hello,

“…I am an American missionary preaching the gospel in Poland.  I’m looking for a church for a young Polish believer who plans on going to Austria for a year.  He speaks German and will be living in Eggenburg.  If you know of any Bible believing (preferrably non-charismatic) church in the vicinity, I would appreciate if if you could send me the address.

Thank you and may the Lord bless you and your ministry.” Under his signature, he has this scripture: “Woe is unto me, if I preach not the gospel” 1 Cor. 9.16

I immediately wrote back to him and told him that we are still in the States, but I would definitely contact our Team Leader in Austria and see if he can make a connection for this young man.

The really cool thing is that I know EXACTLY where Eggenburg is!!  Of all the photos I have taken while in Austria, one of my favorites is from our visit to Eggenburg…it was taken right outside the gates of Eggenburg Castle.  It was a gorgeous day in October and as we passed this gate, I turned around and the sun was shining down through the leaves….I just had to take a picture…

So, as I sit here hurting today, the Lord sent me a reminder of how He is hurting for those who don’t know him and how He is still directing our paths to Austria and that He is going before us.

This makes me cry for a different reason…and it has caused me to pray for the souls of the people that we haven’t met yet.

~ by geneandamy on April 29, 2010.

One Response to “Encouragement”

  1. Hi – I assume it’s Amy that has the tooth problem? I will be praying for both of you, just in case. What a blessing that you are able to hear the Lord speak to you through this pain.

    This picture is amazing – the way it captures the sunlight, God’s beautiful creation, and stairs to some beautiful place. It is almost heavenly in concept.

Leave a Reply

 
